Return to Escondido Public Library Home Page
Search Catalog | My Account/Renewals | Databases

keyboard and mouse image

Database vs. website
What's the difference?

Research Guides
Find print and online information for popular research topics.

Ask a Librarian
Online, by phone, or in person.

Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia

For students and adults alike, the Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 encyclopedia articles. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display.

Not in the library? You will need to enter your library card barcode number.

Databases & Other Resources

Home > Databases

Biographical Information

Gale Biography Resource Center
This database includes biographical information on over 300,000 people throughout history and around the world. 
 

Magazine/Newspaper Articles

EBSCOHost
This database offers a wide range of reference materials and newspaper/magazine articles.  Use it for research on almost every topic.
Access this database from outside the library.
(You will need to enter your library card barcode number)

New York Times
Search the New York Times, the NY Times Book Review, and the NY Times Magazine for articles from 1995 to the present.
Access this database from outside the library.
(You will need to enter your library card barcode number)

Newspaper Source
Find articles from more than 250 national, international, and local newspapers, news wires, and television news programs.
Not in the library? You will need to enter your library card barcode number.

Auto Repair

Auto Repair Reference Center
Find repair procedures, recall information, wiring diagrams and more for cars manufactured after 1954.  You will need Adobe Acrobat software to view some pages. 
Access this database from outside the library.
(You will need to enter your library card barcode number)

For Avid Readers

Novelist
This database allows you to search by author, title or series for book summaries.  It also helps you find books you may enjoy.
Access this database from outside the library.
(You will need to enter your library card barcode number)

Health & Medicine

Consumer Health Complete (CHC)
This is the single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
Not in the library? You will need to enter your library card barcode number.

Magill's Medical Guide
The Guide covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. A useful resource for students (high school, college), consumers and even medical school students.
Not in the library? You will need to enter your library card barcode number and sign up to become a registered user of Salem Health (a two minute process).
 

Business Resources

Business Source Premier
Search for full text articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Not in the library? You will need to enter your library card barcode number.

Regional Business News
Search for business news articles from different regions of the world.
Not in the library? You will need to enter your library card barcode number.

Morningstar (in library use only)
Get information about mutual funds.

Investor's Business Daily Online (in library use only)
Investment information.  Ask Librarian for help logging into this site.

Inside Prospects
(San Diego & Orange Counties)
(in library use only)
Search database of local businesses by location, type of business and number of employees.

Business & Residential Directory

Reference USA
Find residential address and phone information in addition to business directory information.

California Jobs

CalJOBS
Search for California jobs and post your resume.

Practice Tests

Learn a test
Improve your scores on academic, civil service, military or professional certification exams. Practice test taking skills.
Access this database from outside the library.
(You will need to enter your library card barcode number)

City of Escondido Code

Escondido Municipal Code
Search the city's municipal codes online.
 

Income Tax

Internal Revenue Service
For federal tax forms and information.

California Franchise Tax Board
For California state income tax.
 

Genealogy History

Ancestry.com Library Edition (in library use only)
AncestryLibrary is a subscription database that contains geneology information from more than 4,000 databases including census data, passenger lists, birth, marriage and death records. You can search by name, by where a person lived or browse by region or states. The Map Center contains maps from across the United States. Data is compiled from the Social Security Death Index, U.S. Federal Census, UK Census Collection, immigration and military records, court, land and probate records and more.

AncestryLibrary is for in-library use only. It is not available for home use.