Search the Kids Page

Find Your Next Read!

 

Read-Alikes by library staff

Already finished your favorite series? Click one of the books below for its read-alike!

 

Wimpy Kid Series

 

Wings of Fire Series
Dog Man Series

 

More titles with read-alikes:

Explore a galaxy far, far away through the wonderful world of books! Click here or on the banner for a list of Star Wars books in the Children's Section. 


More Ways to Find Your Next Read...

  • AR Book Finder allows you to enter the name of a book and find out its AR Points and Interest Level
  • Juvenile Series and Sequels helps you find the next book in your favorite series
  • MetaMetrics for a complete list of Lexile Scale books by publisher
  • Novelist lets you find reading recommendations to books and authors your child enjoys. This database can be found on the Library webpage in the Kids Section. It can be accessed through our computers or your own electronic device with your library card. Here's a Quick Guide to help you get started.
  • Read Kiddo Read was created by James Patterson and lists the latest books for children

 

 

Award Winning Books

 

Click on the award names below to view full lists of winners. 

John Newberry Medal- It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Coretta Scott King Award- It is given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.  

Randolph Caldecott Medal- It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Pura Belpre Award- Is presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

 

Youth Services Desk

Have a question?

 Contact Us: 760-839-5456

youth.services@escondidolibrary.org

 

Subscribe